Patrick G Cox

Harry Heron; Midshipman's Journey - Kindle, eFormats and Paperback Book

In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Henry (Harry) Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond.

Available from Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk as Kindle or Paperback

Priced at $3.99 (UK Price available on the UK Link) for Kindle and $14.99 for paperback.