Patrick G Cox

Magnus Patricius: The remarkable Life of St Patrick, the Man - eBook, Paperback and Hard Cover

Magnus Patricius: The Remarkable Life of

St Patrick, the Man 

St Patrick is the most well-known saint in the world. Mention his name, and many people think of St Patrick's Day parades, parties, and green beer, or leprechauns and four-leaf clovers decorating office cubicles and classroom walls, with everyone wearing green for good luck. But when you get past all the revelry, you’re left with the question: Who was St Patrick, the man? Magnus Sucatus Patricius was born to a wealthy family of minor Romano-British nobility. Captured by the Scotti (the Irish) when he was sixteen, he endured six years of slavery before making his way to home and freedom. He eventually returned to minister to the people who had enslaved him. This young man of nobility and property foreswore everything—life, birthright, comfort, and home—to serve God. There were several attempts on his life and on his person, but he survived them all. Thanks to his writing, his is the one authentic voice we have from fifth-century Britain. Open the pages of Magnus Patricius: The Remarkable Life of St Patrick, the Man, and walk in his humble footsteps through slavery, freedom, marriage and fatherhood, and a ministry built on the practical expression of Christian faith and love.

Paperback ISBN 9780997602166   Amazon US   Amazon UK

Hardback ISBN 9780997602173

Ebook ISBN 9780997602180     Kindle US    Kindle UK

 

Limehouse Boys - eBook or Paperback

The East End of London in the early 1830s provides the background to this thrilling tale of hardship, criminal activity, determination and courage.

When young Ned Farrier is committed to the Shadwell Workhouse, he is thrust into a regime of harsh punishment and corruption orchestrated by the local Beadle, who has spent years enriching himself at the expense of widows and orphans, making several enemies in the process. Beadle Hewlett has earmarked Ned and his friends George and Ben as prime recruits for his unsavoury trade, but a daring plan triggers a chain of events that ultimately leads to their finding a new life on the sailing barges that ply the Thames Estuary. Meanwhile, Mick Howell, Ex-Master’s Mate of the British Royal Navy, is determined to avenge his brother’s suffering at the hands of the Beadle’s partners in crime. Mick and his friends join forces with the Reverend Mr Short, Rector of St Anne’s Limehouse, to bring the Beadle and his cohorts to justice and to help his victims build new lives. 

Kindle Editions from: Amazon.com Amazon.co.uk 

Paperback from: 

A Baltic Affair - Paperback and eBook - Paperback Book

Captain Petroc Gray, commander of the ship-rigged sloop of war, HMS Kestrel, 22 guns, finds himself drawn into diplomacy, intrigue and espionage when he rescues the Freiherr von Dieffenbach and his family off the island of Rügen in the Baltic. The Freiherr proves to be an important and valuable connection in the struggle to beat the Napoleonic Continental blockade of British trade, and Petroc finds romance in the person of the Freiherr's daughter ...

But the shifting sands and changing moods of the Baltic and the North Sea coast are the least of the couple's problems as they navigate their way through the changing political alliances of the Northern European and Scandinavian states. Petroc must deal with his own family problems while taking care of his ship's company, the Freiherr's 'connections' and his Admiral's orders.

War, sea battles, storms, death and Napoleon's 'hundred days' leading to the defeat at Waterloo all conspire to frustrate Petroc's intention to seek Silke's hand in marriage right to the last ...

Now available on Amazon at a great price of $12.99 and in the UK at £12.99 or B&N at $12.99

EBOOK VERSIONS

Kindle:    US     UK     EU

Nook:       A Baltic Affair

Also at -

Nook:
 

Harry Heron; Midshipman's Journey - Kindle, eFormats and Paperback Book

In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Henry (Harry) Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond.

Available from Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk as Kindle or Paperback

Priced at $3.99 (UK Price available on the UK Link) for Kindle and $14.99 for paperback.

Also from - 

Nook:
Apple:
 

Harry Heron: Into the Unknown - ebook and paperback

A freak accident on board the HMS Spartan during a sea battle with the French navy in 1804 catapults Midshipman Harry Heron and his shipmates Ferghal O’Connor and Danny Gunn four hundred years into the future, landing them on the NECS Vanguard, flagship of the World Treaty Organisation Fleet. While Captain Blackwood and Major Heron sort out the mystery and determine whether the young men are alive or dead, Harry and his friends are faced with the challenge of learning new roles aboard a spaceship. Just as they have found their footing, they are called upon to assist the Fleet in a rescue mission on the planet Pangaea, giving them the opportunity to prove that their unique skills from the past are still very relevant in the far distant future.

Available on Amazon. Kindle and paperback edition: $3.99

Also from Amazon.co.uk and others.

ON the RUN

The fourth Harry Heron Adventure ...

On the RUN - A Harry Heron Adventure is now available from ABBOTT PRESS in Paperback at $20.95

                                                                                                       Hardcover at $37.95

                                                                                                       or eBook at   $3.95

The book is available from Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble and all other booksellers as well...

Trailer on YouTube ...

Take three young men from a ship-of-the-line in 1804, thrust them four hundred years into the future, give them some high-tech implants and a dash of illegal gene splicing, and you have a trio with a different approach than that of their new friends and companions. Harry, Ferghal, and Danny face the uncharted waters of the bitter conflict between the organizations known as the Consortium and the Confederation; these sailors are now without a known star to steer by.

Harry Nelson-Heron is, in appearance, an ordinary young man with some special talents. Other than his friend Ferghal O’Connor, Harry may be the only man who can stop the Consortium’s plan to ruin the democratic Confederation’s economy and impose their own oligarchy. In any century, a patronizing bully of a superior can make any man’s life miserable, and for Harry, things haven’t changed in four hundred years. Fortunately, Ferghal has crafted a better relationship with his superior, who encourages him to use his “antique” skills for recreation. These same skills will ultimately play an important part in the events to come, thanks in no small part to the incompetence of one individual in particular.

It’s a desperate race for survival on an alien world for Sub-lieutenant Heron and his men. When they find shelter with a strange alien people and their even stranger Provider, things start to take a hopeful turn. Do they dare let their guards down?

The Outer Edge - e-book and paperback

The fifth book in the Harry Heron series. 

Sent to the outer edges of the expanding human sphere of explored and colonised space in this section of the galaxy, the NECS Beagle carries a team of scientists on a voyage of discovery, but when the ship becomes the target of the Niburu, an ancient predator, the stage is set for a new threat to the survival of humankind. The consequences are dire, and the encounter could result in a war to the death with no quarter given and none expected. At the helm once again is Lieutenant ‘Harry’ Nelson-Heron of the North European Interstellar Fleet. He has the unique ability to communicate with the ship’s artificial intelligence, which makes him the best man to command one of the new corvette class ships in the Fleet‘s mission to destabilise the Niburu, but it also makes him a prime target for the Niburu’s deadly intentions.

Along with their alien allies, Harry and his shipmates cope with this merciless enemy even as they battle the onslaught of misinformation about their mission propagated by politicians and news journalists who believe that humanity is the cause of the conflict. Meanwhile, the mysterious Sidhiche, enigmatic, often cryptic, and very alien, give guidance and assistance, but nothing is ever straightforward with them, and it quickly becomes apparent that they have their own agenda.

Kindle       Nook      KOBO      Google Play    Apple iTunes

$4.11       $3.99     $2.93        $3.50

Also on Kindle for the UK  

qr.kaywa.com.png

In paperback

Amazon.com

$16.14

A Guide to Fire Investigation

The purpose of this guide is to provide a concise volume for the fire investigator which addresses some of the principle facets of the investigative process. It will attempt to provide a simple explanation of some of the science necessary to interpreting the evidence of fire behaviour and movement. This book is not meant to be an alternative to Kirk's Fire Investigation, or to Principles of Fire Investigation, but to fill a gap that exists for a quick reference in the field which can then be supported or expanded if need be by reference to one of the many far more scientific books available

Purchase direct from the Institution of Fire Engineers. Price £35.00

Marine Fire Studies - Hardback Text Book for Fire Professionals

This book includes chapters on safety at sea, legal implications, fire fighting installations and equipment and general requirements for fire protection, basic principles of ship design, ship types, fire fighting ships and fire boats, fire fighting in ships and planning for incidents, boarding ships and transfer of equipment, ports, docks and harbours, naval vessels and auxiliaries. The author offers a comprehensive view of the wider subject matter in relation to fire aboard ships.